Skip to content

Dual-Duty Appliances – Turkey Fryers

May 16, 2017

We had a family dinner in the middle of the week.  No small feat coordinating between my dad driving up from Florida with a cooler full of freshly caught Gulf fish, my son and two daughters work schedules – Wednesday was the day.  The menu was set: Fried Fish, Au Gratin Potatoes, Sauteed Cauliflower, Coleslaw and Salted Caramel Eclaire Cake.

ReefFish_Species

Tuesday was spent making coleslaw, steaming a head of cauliflower, making the eclaire cake and cleaning up the house.  I was ready, except for deciding where and how I was going to fry the fish.  Propane or Electric or Stovetop? Outside on the patio or inside?

turkey fryerI love, love, love dual-purpose appliances.  My electric turkey fryer is one of the best I have for large scale boiling or frying.  Every year I fry turkeys for friends, charging a small fee. Doing this, it paid for itself within a month of purchase.

Besides Thanksgiving, I have used it at different events from picnics to wedding receptions to kids birthday parties.  What is it good for: corn on the cob, hot dogs, low country boil, boiled crabs, boiled shrimp,  skinning tomatoes (canning), corn dogs, fried chicken, fried shrimp, french fries, tater tots and now frying fish.

My dad didn’t disappoint.  He had a cooler FULL of fish.  We had two huge baskets of Grouper and Vermillion in short order.  I was so glad I prepped a bunch on Tuesday.  I wouldn’t have been able to keep up with fish frying otherwise.

See my other Dual-Duty Appliance posts here.

~R~

From → Family, Misc., Recipes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

