Skip to content

Gramma and the Po Po

May 17, 2017

police lightsI was recently accosted by the local police in our small quaint town.

I wasn’t driving.

I wasn’t even on a public road.

I was sitting in my daughter’s driveway in my car, pulled back by the garage in the shade.  The temp was over 90 degrees.  I play word games or hit Instagram or write a blog post while I wait for the school bus delivering the seven year old grandchild.

So two police cars show up a couple houses down and officers start looking in car windows.  Apparently, no one is home or coming out to see if they need assistance.  I see them trying to back out and continue with my game.

In my peripheral vision, I see movement and look up.  Both officers are now pulled in and coming towards me.  One little shit unsnaps his gun strap.  Oh really!?!  The tall one is silent, while the fun-sized one does all the talking.  (I can say fun-sized because at my full height of 5’1” I can look this guy in eye)

“I need your driver’s license.”  (he starts calling it in)
“Do I live here?”  No
“Do I know who lives here?”  Yes
“What are you doing here?” Picking up my grandchild from the bus.  This is my daughter’s house.
“What is her name?”  I tell him her name.
“I haven’t seen you here before.  How often are you here?”  Monday through Friday, 3:00 to 3:30pm
“I would have seen you.  How long have you been doing this?”  Since November.
“I would have noticed you.”  Officer, the only other time I have seen police on this road was three weeks ago when the kid a few houses down backed his car straight across the road into the ditch.  I sat here and watched the entire thing.  I have photos because I wrote a story and posted on a local news site to stay clear of this road for a bit.
Dispatch comes back alerting him the license number is invalid.  I get my license back out and hand it to him.

My phone dings, so I grab it and check the message.  He is trying to look at the screen.  Interesting.  It’s the Mayors assistant.  I built some furniture for her and for one of her friends.  That lovely woman had impeccable timing.  She was letting me know they loved my work.

I shared the news with the wonderful officers.  And without so much as a radio message back clearing my license, they told me “everything is good, and you are free to go.”

Well, since I’m parked in a driveway, can I just stay here and wait for the kid?

I did tell them to stick around.  It was almost 3:30; they could probably generate some revenue and make the chief happy.   Bus 0705 has a habit of flying down the road well over the speed limit.  A red dodge truck with flags on each side of the bed was known to ignore the bus stop signs disregarding the safety of the kids.

I must go.  It’s 2:50 pm.  Time for my daily crime spree.

~R~

From → Family, Misc.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

