Skip to content

Creative cooking: an apple dessert

April 8, 2020

We were not prepared for the empty store shelves when this virus took control of the world losing their shit and hoarding groceries.

I made a dessert out of COH (crap on hand) for the family. Basically a fruit cake using apples and a cake mix.

Apple cake dessertIt turned out pretty delightful. As my son ate the last of it today, he inquired I used a recipe or was it something I threw together.

I claimed the truth ( You know the the truth will always set you free, right?) His reply was to write this one down. So without further BS about how great this dish tasted, or how much vanilla bean ice cream would enhance the flavor, here is an easy recipe.

9×13 pan sprayed with nonstick stuff, oven at 375 degrees

  • Apples, any kind, about 5 -6 cups, peeled and diced
  • Cinnamon and nutmeg, sprinkle it on the apples to taste
  • Half a can of sweetened condensed milk, drizzle over apples
  • Pecans, chopped, about a handful sprinkled over pan
  • Yellow cake mix, NOT MIXED! Just dump it dry over ingredients and smooth as evenly as possible
  • Almost a half cup of butter, melted then drizzled over cake mix
  • Bake for 45-50 minutes

If you’re OCD or a perfectionist, let me apologize right here. I rarely measure anything. Don’t worry, it will turn out great.

Here is a photo of what it looks like before you add the cake mix. I added a couple of pears also since they were at the eat or rot stage.

Share with your family, friends, co-workers, church group, etc.

If you add any thing or make it better, let me know. Try some different fruit or a spice cake mix. Make it your way.

Recipes are really just suggestions anyway!

~R~

From → Family, Recipes

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment